Home Blog

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 - New Zealand vs Pakistan, 1st Semi-Final

Written By Jenny Doe
Reviewed By Jenny Doe

3 Min Read

Social Share

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 - New Zealand vs Pakistan, 1st Semi-Final

On November 9, there will be the first clash of Semi-final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. The pace of the semi-final match will set off with the


 New Zealand vs Pakistan match.  During the Group 1 clashes of the Super 12 stage, NZ was its part and they ended the stage being on the top of the points table with a need of 7 points in the semi-final. Out of their 5 gameplays, New Zealand got a victory in 3 matches, losing 1 and 1 ending with no result. 


 On the other hand, Pakistan played with group 2 teams during the Super 12 round. In that stage, the teams ended their game having 2 points on the table, holding the second position and reaching the semis. Moreover, the squad got 6 points after winning 3 matches out of 5 and lost 2 matches. 


 In the head-to-head encounters in T20Is, NZ comes below Pak team as they have won 17 while NZ has got a victory in 11 matches out of 28. Also, in T20 World Cups, Pakistan sits above New Zealand having a win in 4 matches out of 6 while losing 2. 


 However, from the


 latest cricket updates, Pak and NZ will come against each other to play their first match at SCG. 


 Here is the preview of both the squads:  New Zealand For the NZ squad, Kane Williamson is the skipper and Glenn Phillips is the highest run-getter for the team as he amassed 195 runs in 4 matches, played at an average of 48.75. 


 In the queue Kane Williamson is the next, scoring 132 runs in 4 matches. From the bowling side, Mitchell Santer is the highest wicket taker in 4 matches followed by Tim Southee and Lockie Ferguson dismissing 7 players in 4 games each. 


 Pakistan For the Pakistan team, Babar Azam is the skipper and Shan Masood has got the highest runs so far, 134 in 5 matches. This follows the run-scoring of Iftikhar Ahmed and Mohammad Rizwan, scoring 114 and 103 respectively. 


 From the bowling side, Shadab Khan has got the highest wicket, 10 for the team and Shaheen Afridi is the next. 


 To unveil the innings of the first semi-final match, get the 


latest cricket updates here. 


 Date & Time - November 9 at 7 Pm Local  and 1.30 Pm IS


 Venue - Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney


 Words By Matthew Hayden  ‘Shadab said something very significant in the dugout the other day when we were playing our last match: 'Welcome to Pakistan cricket.' Meaning that on any given day, anything can happen. And on that particular day, when the Netherlands beat South Africa, it was a significant moment for us in the tournament and a very, very significant moment for the team in reaching their potential.’


 Squads New Zealand Finn Allen, Devon Conway(w), Kane Williamson(c), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Michael Bracewell, and Mark Chapman. 


 Pakistan Mohammad Rizwan(w), Babar Azam(c), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Haider Ali, and Asif Ali.


 To keep yourself updated with 


live scores and the 


latest cricket updates about NZ vs Pak match, follow CBTF Speed News!