Home Blog

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 - Australia vs Sri Lanka, 19th Match, Super 12 Group 1 Preview

Written By Jenny Doe
Reviewed By Jenny Doe

2 Min Read

Social Share

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 - Australia vs Sri Lanka, 19th Match, Super 12 Group 1 Preview

It isn’t easy for any team to enter the T20 World Cup being defending champions. Today, there will be a clash between the World Cup defending Champions, Australia and the Asia Cup defending Champions, Sri Lanka. 


 Australia has a strong team but the setbacks can pose a threatening challenge for them in the World Cup. In a match against New Zealand, the top order batters of the side failed to come powerful in key encounters. Now, they’ll have to pull up their socks, right from the start, Aaron Finch. They have the strongest bowling suit.


 Australia would also rely on Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc who have taken only 10 wickets between the powerplay since 2021, to get back in their top-notch form in the competition. 


 Meanwhile, Sri Lanka is on the same side in the World Cup as in the Asia Cup. After losing to Afghanistan, Sri Lanka has opened their eyes to be more circumspect. 


 Maheesh Theekshana and Wanindu Hasaranga would lead the team from the bowling department. Moreover, Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, and Charith Asalanka’s great knocks would back their bowling unit. 


 Australia is a powerful team, Sri Lanka will also look to improve their chances of winning. 


 Date & Time - October 25 at 7:00 PM Local & 4:30 PM IST


 Venue - Perth Stadium, Perth


 Squads Australia David Warner, Aaron Finch(c), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade(w), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Steven Smith, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, and Kane Richardson


 Sri Lanka Kusal Mendis(w), Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Ashen Bandara, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Binura Fernando, Lahiru Kumara, Jeffrey Vandersay, Kasun Rajitha, Pramod Madushan, and Pathum Nissanka. 


 For the 


latest cricket updates, follow CBTF Speed News!