Home Blog

England vs Wales FIFA World Cup: England Reached the Round of 16 With a Thumping 3-0 Win

Written By Jenny Doe
Reviewed By Jenny Doe

2 Min Read

Social Share

England vs Wales FIFA World Cup: England Reached the Round of 16 With a Thumping 3-0 Win

England booked a World Cup last-16 match against Senegal as Marcus Rashford, and Phil Foden led a 3-0 win over Wales on Tuesday, knocking their neighbors out of the tournament.


Gareth Southgate's side won Group B owing to vital contributions from Rashford and Foden, who were reinstated to the lineup by the England manager.


Foden demonstrated why he had been tipped to start by winning the free-kick that Rashford converted to break the deadlock early in the second half at the Ahmad bin Ali Stadium in Doha.


Just seconds later, Foden increased England's lead, officially ending the one-sided 'Battle of Britain,' and Rashford struck again to guarantee Wales' first World Cup since 1958 ended in disappointment.


England triumphed for the second time in nine games, with Foden and Rashford providing the cutting edge that had been missing in their previous match, a drab goalless draw against the United States.


A stuttering first half demonstrated that the Three Lions still have room to improve as they seek their first major prize since the 1966 World Cup.


But the brutal way they crushed Wales after the break gives them hope for Sunday's clash with Group A runners-up Senegal.


While England fans view Germany and Scotland as their main enemies, Wales has never hidden their desire to get one over on their despised neighbors.


Wales' squad was famously caught celebrating England's humiliating Euro 2016 departure against Iceland. Welsh forward Kieffer Moore said he would love to knock England out of the World Cup. Given those slights, England's decision to eliminate Wales was a welcome relief.


Player Ratings

Wales: Ward (5), N Williams (5), Rodon (4), Mepham (5), Davies (6), Allen (6), Ampadu (6), Ramsey (5), James (4), Bale (4), Moore (5).


Subs: Roberts (4), Johnson (4), Morrell (4), Wilson (5), Colwill (n/a)


England: Pickford (6), Walker (6), Stones (6), Maguire (6), Shaw (6), Henderson (6), Rice (6), Bellingham (6), Foden (7), Kane (7), Rashford (9).


Subs: Grealish (5), Trippier (5), Phillips (6), Alexander-Arnold (5), Wilson (5).


Man of the Match: Marcus Rashford


To get the latest updates on FIFA World Cup 2022, stay connected with CBTF Speed News.