Home Blog

Big Bash League: Some Big Names Undrafted As Franchise Choose Availability

Written By Jenny Doe
Reviewed By Jenny Doe

5 Min Read

Social Share

Big Bash League: Some Big Names Undrafted As Franchise Choose Availability

The Big Bash League is about to start on 13 December between the Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars. In the latest season of BBL, many big names got undrafted, and fans will not see them in the

upcoming Big Bash League. It is a huge disappointment for the fans, but franchises choose availability over big names. A lot of big names got undrafted. Many other platinum players were undrafted in 


today's BBL match news draft. Faf Du Plessis, Jason Roy, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, and Dawayne Bravo were the platinum players who got unlisted. English batter Liam Livingstone and Afghani spinner Rashid Khan got the deal. Melbourne Renegades picked Liam Livingstone, while Adelaide Strikers retained Rashid Khan. They are one of the biggest names in T20 cricket, and no team gave them a place. Let's understand the reason.




Why Big Names Got Undrafted? 

It was a huge shocker for



 because one of the 


big cricketing names


 was undrafted in the latest BBL draft. The main reason is there are two new cricketing tournaments also played that will impact it.




South Africa launched their cricketing tournament, and it will begin in January. In January, BBL is at its peak, and at the same time, T10 is going to start in the United Arab Emirates. It is a cash-rich league that has plenty of big names.


Signing the big player in the platinum draft becomes difficult for the team because they have to spend a big chunk of their money. They decided to leave a few big names with platinum drafts.





 has divided players into the category, and they will get the price according to the category.




Players from the Platinum category get $340,000, the gold category gets $260,000, the silver category gets $175,000, and the bronze category gets $100,000.


Since all the big names Faf Du Plessis, Andre Russell, and Dawayne Bravo listed themselves in the platinum category but no team was added to their team, except Rashid Khan and Liam Livingstone. The franchise didn’t want that player to leave the tournament in between the tournament. They go before the player who is valuable and available for the entire tournament. BBL has faced this challenge in previous seasons. International players were coming in and out. The team doesn’t want to lose their purse on a player who will play only one or two games and be out of the tournament.


These players got a big amount and it is difficult to choose their replacement. They thought of going with a domestic superstar like Chris Lynn. He is one of the biggest players in the BBL and holds many records including the highest run in the BBL.


BBL Draft

Adelaide Strikers signed Chris Lynn for the upcoming 2022-23 seasons. He will be available to play 10 games. Melbourne Renegades picked Liam Livingstone from the platinum draft and he became the first player from the platinum draft to be picked in the BBL. According to today's BBL match news, Adelaide Strikers retained Rashid Khan. In round one, Melbourne Stars picked

Trent Boult


, Brisbane Heat picked Sam Billings, Sydney Sixers picked Chris Jordan, Sydney Thunder picked David Willey, Hobart Hurricanes picked Shadab Khan, while Perth Scorchers didn’t choose anyone.




In round two, Melbourne renegades picked Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Melbourne Stars picked Joe Clarke, Brisbane Heat picked Colin Munro, Perth Scorchers retained Laurie Evans, Sydney Sixers picked James Vince, Adelaide Strikers picked Colin de Grandhomme, Sydney Thunder picked Alex Hales and Hobart Hurricanes picked Asif Ali.


In round three, Hobart Hurricanes, Sydney Thunder, Perth Scorchers, Adelaide Strikers, and Melbourne Stars picked Faheem Ashraf, Rilee Rossouw, Phil Salt, Adam Hose, and Luke Wood respectively. While Sydney Sixers, Brisbane Heat, and Melbourne Renegades didn’t pick anyone in the third round.


In round four, Melbourne Renegades, Brisbane Heat, Sydney Sixers, and Perth Scorchers picked Akeal Hossein, Ross Whiteley, Izharulhaq Naveed, and Tymal Mills. While Melbourne Stars, Adelaide Strikers, Sydney Thunder, and Hobart Hurricanes didn’t pick anyone.


Read our blog: Top Current Pacers in the Cricket World.


Schedule of BBL 

The first match will start on the 13 December between Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars in Manuka Oval, Canberra at 7:15 PM Local. The top five teams will fight for the final, and the final will take place on 4 February 2023.


Perth Scorchers will play to retain their title as they won the final in 2021-22 against Sydney Sixers. Sydney sixers won the toss and elected to field first. Perth's starts were terrible, and they lost their early wickets, but captain Ashton Turner and Laurie Evans took care of the innings. Turner scored 54 runs in 35 balls, while Evans scored 76 runs in 41 balls. In response, Sydney Sixers got all out at the score of 92 and lost the final by 79 runs. Only Daniel Hughes scored 42 runs in 33 balls while the other batter struggled to score runs.


Visit the CBTF website for today's

BBL match news!